Biplab Deb to be sworn in as Tripura Chief Minister today


Agartala: Biplab Kumar Deb, 48-year-old, Tripura BJP president will be sworn in as the chief minister of Tripura today, at the Assam Rifles ground. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and all the chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states have been invited.

While addressing a media conference on Thursday, Deb said, “The swearing-in ceremony will be on March 9 at 10.30 am. We have sent an invitation to the prime minister and all the chief ministers of the BJP government”. I hope the prime minister accepts the invitation.

Reportedly, Former Chief Minister Manik Sarkar was personally invited by Deb and BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari on Thursday announced Deb as the chief minister while Jishnu Kumar Deb was named as deputy chief minister. The announcement was made at the state guesthouse in Agartala.

Earlier in the month, the BJP and its ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) scripted history in the assembly election by ending the 25-year reign of the Left Front-led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist), with a two-thirds majority in the Tripura Legislative Assembly elections.

The BJP won 35 of the 59 seats that went to polls in Tripura, ousting the CPI (M) which won only in 17 assembly constituencies.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.