Bijepur by-poll to witness tri-cornered fight


Bhubaneswar: The BJD, BJP and the Congress have now started focusing on the by-election in the Bijepur Assembly constituency which is necessitated following the death of Congress Legislator Subal Sahu recently.

The Bijepur constituency consists of three blocks such as Barpali, Bijepur and Gaisilet of Bargarh district. Late Sahu was a three-time MLA from Bijepur.

At the outset, the Election Commission would declare for fresh by-poll anytime. In the 2014 election, Sahu from Congress and Prasanna Acharya from BJD had a cutthroat contest and Sahu had won by a thin margin of 458 votes. The BJP had been in the third slot.

Late Sahu from Congress had got 53,290 (32.1 per cent) votes and BJD’s Acharya had got 52,832(31.88 per cent) votes in 2014 election. BJP’s Jayashankar Pattanayak had got 30,001 (18.10 per cent) votes.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.