UP, Bihar bypoll results: BJP loses all 3 Parliament seats


Gorakhpur/Patna: The Bharatiya Janata Party is staring at defeat in two key parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh — Gorakhpur and Phulpur — which were vacated by Chief Minister Yogi Aditynath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya after their entry into the Assembly in April, 2017.

Both seats were a prestige fight for the BJP. Gorakhpur has been held by Yogi Adityanath since 1998 – he was the youngest MP at 26 – and three times before that by his mentor Advaidyanath.

Phulpur is an extremely prominent Lok Sabha seat that the BJP had wrested only in 2014. It has been represented by Jawaharlal Nehru, his sister Vijayalakshmi Pandit and also former Prime Minister V P Singh.

The fate of the third parliamentary seat being called today is Araria in Bihar, where too the BJP is trailing, this time behind Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD.

Counting is also on for two Assembly seats in Bihar. The BJP is leading in Bhabua while RJD leads again in Jehanabad.

Since there are no permanent enemies in politics, the Samjawadi Party and the Bahujan Party have come together this time to stop the BJP. The last time they joined hands was in 1992 — to take charge of the state after the sacking of BJP’s Kalyan Singh in the aftermath of the Babri demolition.

SP’s Praveen Kumar Nishad  is leading in the Gorakhpur constituency with 293,153 votes after 19 rounds of counting. BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla is second with 264,416 votes.

In Phulpur, SP’s Pratap Singh Patel is leading by 29,474 with 218,963 votes, while BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel is second with 189,489 votes after 20 rounds of counting.

In Bihar, RJD is leading by 23,187 with 3,33,050 votes, while BJP trailing with 3,09,863 votes for Araria constituency.

BJP is leading in Bhabua Assembly seat with 40,501 votes and RJD is leading in Jehanabad Assembly seat with 52,609 votes.

The results are expected to be declared by afternoon.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.