Assembly elections in MP, Mizoram underway


Bhopal/Aizawal: Election to Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram state assemblies began on Wednesday.

Reports said the states have 230 and 40 seats respectively. The election in the two states is being conducted in a single phase. The counting of votes will be held on 11 December.

In Madhya Pradesh the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is fighting to retain the power for a fourth consecutive term. The Indian National Congress (INC) will try to wrest the state that it lost in 2003.

Observers maintained that the Congress is fighting to save the bastion in Mizoram.

The state is dominated by Christians. Election pundits said the BJP’s pro-Hindutva image has eroded its chance to fair well at the hustings.

Incumbent Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla’s tenure ends on December 15. The parties in the fray are Congress, the Mizo National Front (MNF), the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.