Assembly election result 2017: BJP to form govt in UP, Uttarakhand; Congress achieves majority in Punjab, Goa, Manipur


New Delhi: The counting process of assembly election 2017 in five states is underway. However, in Uttar Pradesh, BJP emerged victorious with 325 seats defeating SP-Congress alliance and the BSP. Congress is leading in Manipur with 28 seats while BJP with 21 seats.

Congress made a clean sweep in Punjab by winning 77 seats. The BJP will form the government in Uttarakhand after securing 57 seats whereas with 18 seats in hand, Congress is most likely to form government in Goa.

UP election results: BJP achieved a stunning victory  in UP on Saturday and returned to power in the state after 14 years gap which the regional parties SP and BSP had held sway. The assembly election was held in seven phases in the state.

In UP, the BJP alliance wins 325 seats. While the SP-Congress 54, BSP 19 and others win 5 seats out of 403 seats.

UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav submits his resignation to Governor Ram Naik following the massive defeat.

Elated over the BJP’s performance, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said he was overjoyed that the BJP “has received ‘unprecedented support’ from all sections of society. Huge support from the youth is gladdening.”

Punjab election results: Punjab-led by Captain Amarinder Singh has emerged as the big winner in Punjab Assembly election held in single phase.

Congress has made a comeback in Punjab. Congress wins 77; Akali Dal alliance 18, AAP wins 22 out of 117 seats.

Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal won from Jalalabad seat, defeating AAP candidate Bhagwant Mann by 18,500 votes.

After Congress’ victory in Punjab, Prashant Kishor, one of the key poll strategists for party in the state, said AAP was one the toughest competitors his team has faced.

Uttarakhand election results: Like UP, the BJP has scripted a wonderful success story in congress ruled Uttarakhand assembly election 2017 held in single phase on February 15 to elect representatives from 70 constituencies of the state.

BJP thumps victory in Uttarakhand. BJP wins 57; Congress 11 and others 2 seats out of 70 seats.

In a major shock for the Congress, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat faced defeat on the two assembly seats – Kichha and Haridwar Rural – from where he was contesting as a party candidate. Harish Rawat hinted at possible tampering of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) to tweak the poll outcome.

Goa election results: Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar submits resignation letter to Governor.

Election Commission data portrays Goa: BJP wins 14; Congress 18; Nationalist Congress Party 1; Maharashtrawadi Gomantak 3; Goa Forward Party 3; Independent 1 out of 40.

Manipur election results: The Legislative Assembly elections in Manipur was held in two phases on March 4 and 8,

“I want to quit fighting any type of election: Irom Sharmila after losing election”.

Results for 59 out of 60 – BJP: 21, leading in 1; INC: 28, leading in 1; NPF: 2; LJSP: 1; NPP: 4; TMC: 1; Independent: 1.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.