Achyuta, Prashanta, Soumya elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Odisha


Bhubaneswar: Achyuta Samanta, Prashanta Nanda and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik – the three Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidates – have been elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Odisha, informed Returning Officer Rajesh Prabhakar Patil on Thursday afternoon.

Since the deadline for withdrawing the nominations was set at 3 PM today and nobody withdrew, the three BJD candidates were elected uncontested as the Members of Rajya Sabha from the state, Patil added.

Three BJD leaders had filed their nominations on March 9 for elections to the three seats to the Upper House of Parliament and their respective nomination papers were found to be valid during the scrutiny held on March 13.

However, nomination papers filed by independent candidate Subash Mohapatra were rejected in this regard.

Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and Prasanta Nanda received their certificates from the returning officer at the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

However, Achyuta Samanta would receive the same on Saturday as he was in Manipur to attend the 105th Indian Science Congress.

Three seats in Rajya Sabha from the state will fall vacant as the tenure of BJD Members AU Singhdeo and Dilip Tirkey as well as BJD-backed Independent candidate AV Swami is scheduled to end on April 2.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.