14 bills passed: Assembly adjourned sine die


Bhubaneswar: The eight-day monsoon session of the Odisha assembly concluded yesterday.  Total 14 bills were passed in the session that started on September 7.

The eight-day session had six official and two private members day and it was mostly stormy over several issues.

During the session, several important bills – The Odisha Land Rights to Slum Dwellers Bill, 2017, The Odisha Sales Tax (Settlement of Arrears) Amendment Bill, 2017, The Odisha Motor Vehicle Taxation (Amendment) Bill, 2017 and The Odisha Agricultural Produce Markets (Amendment) Bill, 2017, were passed.

Discussions were held on two adjournments motions.

The opposition had left no stone unturned to corner the BJD over the flyover collapse in Bomikhal, government apathy towards farmers, the drought-like situation in the state.

The last day of the session was also rocked as the Congress members protested against the rise in prices of petrol and diesel.

The state assembly was adjourned sine die on Saturday as per schedule.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.